CII Leadership

Mr. Uday Kotak
President, CII (2020-21)
Managing Director & CEO,
Kotak Mahindra Bank Limited

Mr. T V Narendran
CII (2020-21)
CEO & Managing Director of Tata Steel Limited

Mr. Sanjiv Bajaj
Vice President,
CII (2020-21)
Chairman and Managing Director of Bajaj Finserv Limited

Mr. Chandrajit Banerjee
Director General, CII
Over the years, leaders at the helm of CII have proved themselves to be visionary industrialists. They have been able to anticipate changes in the economic environment, identify emerging challenges and evolve action-solutions for development. A unique feature of CII has been a constant reinvention of itself into an institution that today is not only leading industry, but working for the progress of the nation as a whole.

At critical turning points in the country's economic history, CII's leaders have demonstrated the courage to lead Indian industry into uncharted territories and engineer change. CII leaders have consistently promoted a policy of partnership and cooperation with all stakeholders, and particularly with the Government. This intrinsic partnership approach has played a major role in the evolution of Indian industry over the years, as it transformed from a frail entity insulated from the global economy into a strong and vibrant sector that is driving India's economic growth today.

The key positions of leadership in CII are President, President-Designate, and Vice President. For 2020-21, Mr. Sanjiv Bajaj, Chairman and Managing Director of Bajaj Finserv Limited is the CII Vice President, Mr T V Narendran, CEO & Managing Director, Tata Steel Limited is the President-Designate, CII, and Mr. Uday Kotak, Managing Director & CEO, Kotak Mahindra Bank Limited, is the President, CII.

The CII Secretariat is headed by the Director General who oversees the implementation of action agendas and leads the day-to-day management and operation of this vast organisation. Mr Chandrajit Banerjee is the Director General of CII since 2008 with an experience of over 30 years in CII.